Time Management

Keeping Track of Time Working from Home

I thought it might be interesting to include a “Day in the Life” introduction for each blog post I put up. That may not happen every time, but I’ll see how it goes.


Wednesday, March 8th

Bananas and Cheerios1:00 a.m. Finally go to bed (stayed up working on work stuff and the blog)

3:00 a.m. Sweet Pea wakes up briefly but then goes back to sleep

7:00 a.m. Sweat Pea wakes up and she is ready for the day!

7:10 a.m. I get up and nurse her and just play a little bit. She loves crawling around on our big bed so I let her do that in the morning and play with her dolls. 

8:30 a.m. Bath time (I could postpone it no longer!)

8:45 a.m. Cheerios and bananas for breakfast

9:00 a.m. I finally start work

10:00 a.m. Sweet Pea starts fussing and I put her down for a nap

1:00 p.m. Sweet Pea wakes up (SHE NEVER SLEEPS THAT LONG! IT WAS CRAZY!)

*The rest of the day, I juggle play time and taking care of her and getting the rest of my work done. By 4:30, I had hit my 5 hours for the day! 

Time Management

So, with all of that in mind, you might be wondering how I keep track of my time for work. Working hourly means I have to log the time I work. But being a stay-at-home mom means I have a lot of interruptions throughout the day.

The answer: Toggl 

This tool is awesome. I love it! My company started using it about a year or more ago.

Toggl screenshot

You can record your time manually for the day (whenever you want to) OR you can use the timer to record your time as you’re working.

Toggle screenshot time doc

I use the timer feature. It makes it so easy! I can tag the project/task I’m working on by brand/client (if you have those at your company) and just hit the play button. When I have to stop to take care of the baby or chores around the house, I just hit stop. It will keep track of my day for me. When I go past midnight, it will start recording my time for the next day.

Then, if you manage multiple people for your work or you just want to keep track of your progress for the week, you can click on “Reports” in the left sidebar and “Summary” and filter for just you or other people on your team and see how many hours have been worked that week.

Screenshot

This is just for myself for the week. It has the hours I’ve worked per day and my total. With a goal of 30 hours a week, I only have 9 and a half hours to hit that for the week!

If you are a freelancer or own your own business and think this would be helpful, their pricing information can be found here: https://toggl.com/pricing. They have different packages based on your needs and each of these packages starts with a Free Trial.

This may also be really helpful for businesses who need to keep track of how much work they are doing for certain clients so they can bill them appropriately.

Hope this post was helpful and informative for you! How do you keep track of the time you work if you work from home? Are you paid by project, hourly, set your own hours? Tell me in the comment section below! 

Leave a Reply

